The Dream

That’s an old story about which I am not sure if to publish or not… Well here it is…

Act I

 

Chr1

Hello there!

 

Chr2

What the Hell do you think you’re doing here?

 

Chr1

Meeting you, talking…

 

Chr2

Isn’t there a law against invading people’s dreams?

 

Chr1

No. I’d prefer a live conversation, but I feel safer here.

 

Chr2

You don’t serious expect that I will hurt you, physically…

 

Chr1

Of course I don’t, but here all I say has meaning as far as you wish. I can deny everything I say here! After all, am I me, or am I a part of you, wishing to resolve this once and for all. It most probably is

you, because I’d never so openly approach you. You know, my doings are always covert, always so hard to spot. And above all else – I prefer not to do anything, if possible. You on the other hand cannot really leave things be… No! Now, come, let’s dance.

 

They start to dance.

 

Chr2

You’re despicable, why do you do this? Why do you torment me? I though all was clear.

 

Chr1

Is it? I wish it to be so, but it seems that not even you’re quite confident in that. Why else would I be here?

 

Chr2

May be I am having bad dreams from the pizza I ate…

 

Chr1

Undoubtedly… You actually believe in this? Are that that dim-witted?

 

Chr2

So we can exclude the theory that I am making you up, you sound just like your charming self.

 

Chr1

You know me all too well.

 

Chr2

Yes, I see in you every single bit of myself that I truly hate.

 

Chr1

Likewise.

 

Chr2

So, now, suddenly we start agreeing on things?

 

Chr1

We’ve always agreed on things, that was the true problem, wasn’t it? No arguments, no nothing. There was no advancement of any kind…

 

Chr2

Always you look on things from that point of view. The world’s not a book. People are more…

 

Chr1

You say that, but do you believe it?

 

Chr2

Of course I believe it. Now you’re just trying to confuse me.

 

Chr1

Yes, I really didn’t have anything else to say… I am sorry, you know.

 

Chr2

Are you?

 

Chr1

I don’t really know… Probably not, I don’t really feel sorry; I do not know what to be sorry about.

 

Chr2

About a great deal of things…

 

Chr1

Like what?

 

They stop dancing, music stops

 

Chr1

Well?

 

Chr2

I am not sure. I can see many, many things, yet they appear so unclear at the moment.

 

Chr1

Because they are unclear, because they do not exist!

 

Chr2

Oh, yeah, of course, then why do I feel them?

 

Chr1

Look deeper.

 

Chr2

How deep?

 

Chr1

You know the truth.

 

End of Act I

 

Act II

 

Chr1

Come on, spit it out… Let it be over once and for all!

 

Chr2

I can’t…

 

Chr1

Oh, yes, you can, you want it…

 

Chr2

No! — No! — No!

 

Chr1

Come on, don’t be weak. I hate weak people… Hah, you hate weak people, don’t indulge the irony, swallow your pride, and forget that you’re a decent person, this is only a dream, I merely seek the truth.

 

Chr2

And aren’t we determined by our own dreams?

 

Chr1

No, by our conscious choices…

 

Chr2

That makes me a far worse person than I hope.

 

Chr1

Me too, but it is the way the world is. We’re all good inside, we’re all caring, but we’re the sum of our actions.

 

Chr2

Isn’t there something more to us, to humanity I mean?

 

Chr1

I do not know and I am not here to answer you the riddles of life. I want to know!

 

Chr2

What?

 

Chr1

Did you love me?

 

Chr2

I never did, I was simply being kind.

 

Chr1

You see, it’s not that hard to tell the truth.

 

Chr2

Feels good.

 

Chr1

Now tell me, why we grew apart?

 

Chr2

Because you were always there, always present. Your shadow hounded me.

 

Chr1

You really think I was stalking you? I was simply kind.

 

Chr2

Did you love me?

 

Chr1

I never really wanted to, so I did everything in my power to change that. I had a choice – the easy path that meant to grow distant or to go against my own feelings. I chose the second.

 

 

Chr2

A sound plan, but it backfired, didn’t it?

 

Chr1

How was I supposed to know? I thought I was doing the right thing.

 

Chr2

You did…

 

End of Act II

 

Act III

 

Chr2

You never gave me a hint of your true emotions.

 

Chr1

Then what happened?

 

Chr2

I found it out, anyhow.

 

Chr1

Lovely.

 

Chr2

Funny.

 

Chr1

Always you appreciate my humour…

 

Chr2

Are we done now?

 

Chr1

We’re, I am sorry.

 

Chr2

Really?

 

Chr1

Really…

 

End of Act III

 

Epilogue

 

Chr1 V.O.

I was alone now, left to think over my mistakes.

The Hell with the past.

The Hell with everyone.

A toast to the unknown.

Leave a Reply

