Time of Revenge

Enters William, the room is large with a staircase at the far end, on it stands Joseph.

Joseph:

You almost disappoint me.

William:

By the end of the day all of you will be a disappointment!

Joseph

A just threat, but we are civilized people. Let’s talk.

William

“The time of talking is over, coward. No step down and face me, for I’ve chased you through Hell and back. The places to run have run out on you. Now only my vengeance will stand between us.”

Joseph

“Your revenge will gain you nothing, know this. When I am dead you will be lost, for when the chase is over all that’s left of you will be a hallow imp, a specter of evil, a scion of destruction. I wonder if you will turn on the rest of the world or on yourself.”

William

“Spare me the lecture. I am damned, you damned me to chase you and your death will release me.”

Joseph

“But let’s not forget the bloody path that you’ve left behind! You were blinded and that is none of my doing, you could’ve been a great individual, but you chose a purposeless destiny.”

William

“And what if I did, I am your creation. You should be proud.”

Joseph

“Is a master supposed to be proud if its dog turns rabid?”

William

“When the master is a fiend.”

William starts slowly to approach the stairs. He stops when Joseph starts to speak again.

Joseph

“Insult me all you want, William; nothing will change your sins. If you were so righteous you would’ve never started that trait of behaviour.”

William

“And you can blame me all you want, but I simply follow my instincts.”

Joseph

“Like a snake follows a mouse with broken legs. But like snakes you’re deaf – deaf to reason.”

William

“These are elaborate metaphors for someone that simple like yourself”

Again he moves towards Joseph, this time he stops right before the stairs begin.

William

I hope you will put up a good fight.

Joseph

For your amusement? I thought you wanted to kill me like the dog that I am.

William

A dog master you are, a tyrant and I shall not grant you slow death, but I am not that cruel to torture you. But I’ll have your heart in the hour.

Joseph

And I though you considered me heartless.

William

Small-hearted, may be.

Joseph

And I though you didn’t have a sense of humor.

William

It seems you don’t know me at all.

Joseph

And yet you claim that I made you.

William

You did, being a sloppy parent doesn’t excuse you.

Joseph

And he who lays hand on to his father shall forever be damned.

William

You’re not my father and I am already damned. There is no escape, can’t you realize that?

Williams starts to climb the stairs with mad look in his eyes.

Joseph upon realizing what is really coming begins to step back into the darkness.

William

Don’t you dare run! Don’t you dare make me rip you from the back! Don’t you dare die a coward’s death!

Joseph

As you said before – there’s nowhere for me to run. So I’m just prolonging my existence. It may yet be possible for me to make you realize what you’re doing.

William

Is your life so important? Do you feel that important? Are you that arrogant?

Joseph

I’ve sinned; I fear death, don’t you?

William

No, death will be my release.

Joseph

You don’t really make any sense do you? You’re like a fanatic, babbling words at random to justify faulty actions! What is your purpose really?

William

To destroy you!

Williams had finally reached Joseph, they were standing still, looking at one another, but none moved.

Joseph

And who told you that?

William

None did. I knew it.

Joseph

So you base your accusations solely on some bizarre feeling. And you never asked?

William

When I asked, they lied. Now they are dead.

Joseph

You murdered people only for not agreeing with you?

William

Isn’t that the human way?

Joseph

You’re a monster.

William

Says it the biggest of them all.

Joseph

You can hardly call me a murderer. You can hardly call me a criminal. I have been dishonest, I have been immoral, I have been honourless, I have been a coward, and I have been a lot of bad things in my life, but never as low as you.

William

I guess it takes the lowest to deal with you finally. You will no longer hurt people.

Joseph

I’ve never hurt you! I’ve never hurt anybody! Why don’t you just leave me? I am a tired, old man!

William

I cannot…

This sign of uncertainty sparked a hope in Joseph.

Joseph

What have they done to you? You were really like a child to me. I never did anything bad to you. You were like my own and now they’ve turned you and I never stopped to wonder why.

William

Who are they?

Joseph

That is immaterial, listen to me, you’re not that person you’ve been the last years. You are not! You don’t need to follow that path…

William

It is far too late, old man.

He grabbed Joseph by the throat. The old man began to choke

Joseph (with great difficulty)

Please…

William

The time for talk is over…

As Joseph dies, William releases his hold and leaves the body to fall. For a moment he looks at Joseph’s chest but then turns away and starts climbing down the stairs.

William VO

It is finished, at last. I’ve fulfilled my purpose. And now what? Could Joseph have been right? Could I’ve been misled into killing him? Was it my will that I exercised? I know one thing. I will not turn on myself just now. No, the people who did this to me will have to pay before that. Vengeance is never over, not for someone like me…

William exits

End.

Leave a Reply

